Ohio Government

Ohio’s state government is similar to the federal government of the United States. Ohio’s government is made up of three branches: the executive, legislative and judicial. The Ohio Constitution establishes these branches and gives each one specific power and responsibilities. However, the Ohio Constitution gives more power to the Ohio General Assembly than the U.S. Constitution gives to Congress.

ohio government

The executive branch is headed by the governor. The governor is responsible for carrying out the laws of Ohio. The governor also has the power to veto laws passed by the Ohio General Assembly.

The Ohio General Assembly is the state’s legislature. The House of Representatives and Senate make up the Ohio General Assembly. Members of the Ohio House are elected for two-year terms, while members of the Ohio Senate are elected for four-year terms. The General Assembly has the power to pass laws.

The judicial branch is headed by the Ohio Supreme Court. The Supreme Court is the state’s highest court. The Ohio Supreme Court has the power to hear appeals from lower courts and to issue decisions on important legal questions.

The Ohio Constitution establishes a system of government called “checks and balances.” This means that each branch of government has some power over the other two branches. For example, the Ohio General Assembly can pass laws, but the governor can veto those laws. And the Ohio Supreme Court can strike down laws that it finds to be unconstitutional.

This system of government ensures that no one branch of government becomes too powerful. It also ensures that Ohioans have a say in their government through their elected officials. Ohio government is a representative democracy, which means that Ohioans elect officials to represent them in government. These officials make decisions on behalf of the people they represent.

Government of Ohio State

Official Name: Ohio

Governor: Mike DeWine

Contact: Contact the governor

Main Address: Riffe Center, 30th Floor
77 South High St.
Columbus, OH, 43215

Phone Number: 614-644-4357

Ohio State Agencies

Attorney General

Consumer Protection Offices

Corrections Department

Education Department

Emergency Management Agency

Election Office

Motor Vehicle Offices

Surplus Property Sales

Travel and Tourism

Social Services