Ohio Area Codes, United States

Find the real owner of someone with a 216 and 380, 220, 234, 326, 330, 419, 440, 513 and 614, 567, 740, 937 Ohio Area Codes

Ohio area code

Ohio is the birthplace of flight, but the state is more than the hometown of the Wright brothers. The Buckeye state has also produced seven US presidents since it joined the Union in 1803. Generally, Ohio phone numbers begin with area codes that indicate the owner’s town or city on the Ohio phone numbers database.

Until the mid-1900s, an Ohio phone number consisted of two letters and five numbers per the 2L-5N format. The two letters helped identify the switchboard, while the last five numbers were the phone owner’s personal number.

Advancement in telecommunication after the world wars made cellphones more accessible to Ohio residents, who soon demanded personal phone numbers. This demand led to the creation of an all-number system of 7 digits.

The first three digits replaced the two letters, and the last four digits were the phone number owner’s personal code.

Soon enough, the 7-digit system could not keep up with demands too, and a 10-digit numbering system replaced it. By adding a three-digit area code to the seven digits, phone companies expanded the available pool of numbers. Area codes represent a specific geographic area within Ohio.

Take your typical ten-digit Delaware phone number, 302-NHH-XXXX, and think of it as a physical house address.

302 is the area code from the 10-digit numbering system. In a house address, this would be your county or city of residence – in this case, Delaware. The next three digits, NHH, make up the prefix code – this would be your town or street name within Delaware.

The last four digits, XXXX, is the unique line number. In a house address, this would be your house number, flat number, or room number.

Ohio started with four area codes in 1947 when phone companies introduced the 10-digit system.  Four area codes soon proved insufficient to cover everyone. Thankfully, there was no need to increase the length of phone numbers. Instead, the state used overlay plans and geographic splits to create new area codes.

Besides connecting you with the person you wish to call, area codes also let you identify an unknown caller’s location. But you will need a reverse phone search to get specific information about the caller’s address and associated public records on the Ohio phone numbers database.

Several persons can have the same area code if they live in the same area. Also, several persons can have the same prefix code if they are neighbors. However, line numbers are unique. No two persons can have the same line number, but one person or business can have several line numbers.

County FIPS code County seat Established Population Area
Adams County001West Union 179727,477583.91 sq mi
Allen County003Lima 1820102,206404.43 sq mi
Ashland County005Ashland184652,447424.37 sq mi
Ashtabula County007Jefferson180797,574702.44 sq mi
Athens County009Athens180562,431506.76 sq mi
Auglaize County011Wapakoneta184846,422401.25 sq mi
Belmont County013St. Clairsville180166,497537.35 sq mi
Brown County015Georgetown 181843,676491.76 sq mi
Butler County017Hamilton 1803390,357467.27 sq mi
Carroll County019Carrollton183326,721394.67 sq mi
Champaign County021Urbana180538,714428.56 sq mi
Clark County023Springfield1818136,001399.86 sq mi
Clermont County025Batavia1800208,601451.99 sq mi
Clinton County027Wilmington181042,018410.88 sq mi
Columbiana County029Lisbon1803101,877532.46 sq mi
Coshocton County031Coshocton181036,612564.07 sq mi
Crawford County033Bucyrus 182042,025402.11 sq mi
Cuyahoga County035Cleveland18071,264,817458.49 sq mi
Darke County037Greenville180951,881599.80 sq mi
Defiance County039Defiance184538,286411.16 sq mi
Delaware County041Delaware1808214,124442.41 sq mi
Erie County043Sandusky183875,622254.88 sq mi
Fairfield County045Lancaster1800158,921505.11 sq mi
Fayette County047Washington Court House181028,951406.58 sq mi
Franklin County049Columbus18031,323,807539.87 sq mi
Fulton County051Wauseon 185042,713406.78 sq mi
Gallia County053Gallipolis180329,220468.78 sq mi
Geauga County055Chardon 180695,397403.66 sq mi
Greene County057Xenia1803167,966414.88 sq mi
Guernsey County059Cambridge181038,438521.90 sq mi
Hamilton County061Cincinnati 1790830,639407.36 sq mi
Hancock County063Findlay 182074,920531.35 sq mi
Hardin County065Kenton182030,696470.29 sq mi
Harrison County067Cadiz181314,483403.53 sq mi
Henry County069Napoleon 182027,662416.50 sq mi
Highland County071Hillsboro 180543,317553.28 sq mi
Hocking County073Logan181828,050422.75 sq mi
Holmes County075Millersburg182444,223422.99 sq mi
Huron County077Norwalk180958,565492.69 sq mi
Jackson County079Jackson181632,653420.28 sq mi
Jefferson County081Steubenville179765,249409.61 sq mi
Knox County083Mount Vernon180862,721527.12 sq mi
Lake County085Painesville1840232,603228.21 sq mi
Lawrence County087Ironton181558,240454.96 sq mi
Licking County089Newark1808178,519686.50 sq mi
Logan County091Bellefontaine 181846,150458.44 sq mi
Lorain County093Elyria1822312,964492.50 sq mi
Lucas County095Toledo 1835431,279340.46 sq mi
Madison County097London181043,824465.44 sq mi
Mahoning County099Youngstown1846228,614415.25 sq mi
Marion County101Marion182065,359403.84 sq mi
Medina County103Medina1812182,470423 sq mi
Meigs County105Pomeroy181922,210429.42 sq mi
Mercer County107Celina182042,528463.27 sq mi
Miami County109Troy1807108,774407.04 sq mi
Monroe County111Woodsfield181313,385455.54 sq mi
Montgomery County113Dayton1803537,309461.68 sq mi
Morgan County115McConnelsville181713,802417.66 sq mi
Morrow County117Mount Gilead184834,950406.22 sq mi
Muskingum County119Zanesville180486,410664.63 sq mi
Noble County121Caldwell185114,115399.00 sq mi
Ottawa County123Port Clinton184040,364254.95 sq mi
Paulding County125Paulding182018,806416.26 sq mi
Perry County127New Lexington181835,408409.78 sq mi
Pickaway County129Circleville181058,539501.91 sq mi
Pike County131Waverly181527,088441.49 sq mi
Portage County133Ravenna1807161,791492.39 sq mi
Preble County135Eaton180840,999424.80 sq mi
Putnam County137Ottawa182034,451483.87 sq mi
Richland County139Mansfield1808124,936496.88 sq mi
Ross County141Chillicothe179877,093688.41 sq mi
Sandusky County143Fremont182058,896409.18 sq mi
Scioto County145Portsmouth180374,008612.27 sq mi
Seneca County147Tiffin182055,069550.59 sq mi
Shelby County149Sidney181948,230409.27 sq mi
Stark County151Canton1808374,853576.14 sq mi
Summit County153Akron1840540,428419.38 sq mi
Trumbull County155Warren1800201,977616.48 sq mi
Tuscarawas County157New Philadelphia180893,263567.58 sq mi
Union County159Marysville182062,784436.65 sq mi
Van Wert County161Van Wert182028,931410.09 sq mi
Vinton County163McArthur185012,800414.08 sq mi
Warren County165Lebanon1803242,337399.63 sq mi
Washington County167Marietta178859,771635.15 sq mi
Wayne County169Wooster1808116,894555.36 sq mi
Williams County171Bryan182037,102421.74 sq mi
Wood County173Bowling Green1820132,248617.32 sq mi
Wyandot County175Upper Sandusky184521,900405.61 sq mi